Term Dates

2017
Term Dates for 2017
Placeholder

Term One


Butterfly and Dragonfly:

Friday 30th January to Friday 31st March

Ladybugs, Beetles & Crickets:

Thursday 29th January to Thursday 26th March


Placeholder

Term Two


Butterfly & Dragonfly Group :

Wednesday 19th April to Friday 26th June
LadyBugs, Beetles & Crickets :

Tuesday 18th April to Thursday 25th June

Placeholder

Term Three


Butterfly & Dragonfly Group :

Monday 17th July to Friday 22nd September
LadyBugs, Beetles & Crickets :

Tuesday 18th July to Thursday 21st September


Placeholder

Term Four


Butterfly & Dragonfly Group :

Monday 9th October to Friday 22nd December
LadyBugs, Beetles & Crickets :

Tuesday 10th October to Thursday 21st December

Silkworm Kinder Activity
One year an industrious kinder teacher brought silkworm eggs to kinder, it is now a regular exercise for the 4 year old kinder kids to watch the full life span of the silk worms. Silkworms start life as eggs. It takes from 6-20 days for eggs to hatch.

Over the next month they eat mulberry leaves voraciously and quickly grow into smooth, creamy white caterpillars This is called the lava stage.

The worms grow to about seventy times their original size and shed their skin four times. This is called moulting.

When the silkworm matures (about 26 days after hatching) it spins a soft, soft, creamy white cocoon around itself in loops for protection when it is sleeping.It takes about three days to fully spin a cocoon and turn it into a pupa.

The silkworm sleeps for about 21 days in the pupa, the stage between caterpillar and moth. Then it emerges from the pupa as a slimy moth with six jointed legs, two pairs of wings and two feathery feelers. When the wings have expanded and dried the moth is a pearly white colour.

The silk moth can’t fly because its body is too heavy. So it flutters around till it finds another moth of the opposite sex. They then mate: the female lays sticky, pale yellow eggs – up to 500 tiny eggs in neat rows.